RSS Feed

Yard Sale Memories and Cookin’ with Dr. Pepper

Posted on

In Grandma’s recipe box there are lots of recipe booklets from all different brands of foods. This is one from Dr. Pepper copyright 1965. I’m not sure how many recipes Grandma used in this booklet, but I found one that looked alot like Sloppy Joes that I might make for supper tonight.

SPOONBURGERS

1 pound of ground beef

1 clove garlic, minced

1 medium onion, chopped

1 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup of Dr. Pepper

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

1 6 ounce can tomato paste

Few drops of Tobasco

Brown meat in skillet; add garlic, onion, salt; cook 5 minutes. Add remaining ingredients  and simmer about 20 minutes, or until thick. Serve on hot toasted buns. Serves 8.

Looks like a pretty good recipe, all I need is the Dr. Pepper and I think I’ll leave out the Tobasco.

Now, what does this have to do with yard sales?

Grandma and Grandad would have a yard sale about every summer. It was always fun for me because I’d haul half of their old stuff home. That’s how I wound up with lots of dishes, old cooking utensils, an electric knife that’s great for cutting homemade bread. Anyway, Grandma would always cook up a huge pot of sloppy joes. No one made them better! She’d also make some of her cole slaw, I wish I could find that recipe, but I think she just had it in her head and never wrote it down. I haven’t had any like that since the last time she made it.

Here’s a picture of Grandma at a yard sale they had with their neighbor:

Lena Howerton

 

Seeing all of that stuff on the table behind her just makes me want to go dig through it!

Now here is a funny one of Grandad at the same yard sale:

Grandad Sherman Howerton

 

There was a note on the back that said “The only thing at the yard sale that didn’t sell” 🙂

Leave a Reply

