RSS Feed

A Pie Crust Recipe and a Wedding Memory

Posted on

Sherman and Lena Howerton

This picture is of my Grandma and Grandad,  Sherman and Lena Howerton, at my wedding 26 years ago last Tuesday. (That was November 15th, 1985) Wow, it’s hard to believe it’s been that long ago. Grandad and Grandma were some of our best friends when me and Bill got married. We were at their house all the time. Grandad and Bill rebuilt the engine in Bill’s old truck (a 1969 GMC). Angie,  my sister, inherited that truck later on and I don’t think she liked it very well 🙂 Grandma and I would go grocery shopping and hang out at Walmart. We were always working on a craft or two, too. I sure miss those days.

Today’s recipe is another one from the C.R. Jones Supply Company cooking school. It’s called “My Own Pie Crust” and it must have been Mrs. Maxine Bolt’s recipe since she was the teacher of the school. I’ll have to try it for Thanksgiving!

My Very Own Pie Crust

1 1/2 Cups of All-Purpose Flour

1/2 Cup Cake Flour

1 teaspoon Sugar

2/3 Cup of shortening

1 1/2 teaspoons of Vinegar–add water to fill 1/3 cup

Sift dry ingredients together, cut in 1/3 cup of shortening until fine as corn meal. Cut in remaining shortening. Sprinkle with liquid and mix together to form a ball. Turn into floured board and roll.

Hope this recipe works out good!

2 responses »

  1. I loved that truck…just not having to pump the brakes and try to turn that non-powered steering wheel! ha! I love that picture of Grandma and Granddad….Granddad always looked like he was up to something. 🙂

    Reply
    • The truth of the matter is that he usually was. U*ncle Sherman a dry sense of humor. I remember him sitting there listening to that scanner and the red edsel he took care of across the streetr. Sherman was one of a kind.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

