RSS Feed

Just in Time for Thanksgiving–Fall Festival Salad

Posted on
Cooking School circa 1949

Digging through Grandma’s recipe box, I found an interesting program for a Cooking School compliments of the C.R. Jones Supply Company in Siloam Springs. The school was conducted by Mrs. Maxine Bolt. It has several recipes in it. I tried out the Fall Festival Salad, which was kind of different and pretty tasty!

Before I share the recipe, I’ll have to say this program brought up some questions. What and where was the C.R. Jones Supply Company? Who was Mrs. Maxine Bolt? How old is the little program? I never did figure out who Maxine Bolt was, but the questions of  where and when were answered by a script from a walking tour of Siloam Springs that was on the Arkansas Preservation website. It states that the C.R. Jones Company was located at 201-203 S. Broadway from 1930-1950. This building later became Smith’s Carpet. I’m still not sure what the  C.R. Jones Supply Company supplied. Also because I was bored 🙂 I went to timeanddate.com and looked at all the calenders between 1930 and 1950 for Tuesday, November 29 (the date on the program, there wasn’t a year).  November 29th fell on a Tuesday in 1932, 1938 and 1949.  Grandma and Grandad weren’t married in 1932, I think maybe they were still living in Gentry in 1938, sooo….I bet Grandma went to the Cooking School in 1949! Okay…on with the recipe:

Fall Festival Salad

4 Red Apples, Diced, Unpeeled

1/4 cup Diced Celery

1 large Raw Carrot, Grated Fine

1 Cup White or Turkey Grapes

(what’s a Turkey Grape?)

1/4 cup Diced Maraschino Cherries

Toss together with the following dressing:

1 package Philadelphia Cream Cheese (room temperature)

add gradually Maraschino Cherry juice and beat till light and fluffy

2 teaspoons of sugar

I didn’t add the whole package of Cream Cheese, I just used about 1/2 and then added more little by little until it seemed like enough.

Hope you enjoy the recipe! And if anyone knows about Maxine Bolt or what a turkey grape is…please let me know 🙂

Leave a Reply

