RSS Feed

NEEDING NOODLES BUT I’LL SETTLE FOR SOME DUMPLIN’S

Posted on

It was cold this morning! And I have an awful cold or the flu… It’s on days like this that I would love to have some of my Grandma’s chicken and noodles. Noodles were a tradition in our family, we had them at almost every family gathering, sometimes just on cold winter days or on days when we were just feeling yucky. Their warm, salty, soupy goodness is something you’d crave if your throat was sore or your body was achy. I’ve been making them for a few years now and even though I am feeling better than I was at the start of this nasty cold, it just seemed like too much work. So I googled crock pot recipes for chicken soup but nothing seemed like it would be as tasty or as comforting as those noodles.
So I got out Grandma’s recipe box hoping to find a recipe that would suit me. I did! It was one of the first recipes I picked up. Written in my sweet Grandma’s handwriting was the recipe for Feather Dumplings. It was as if  she had it ready waiting on me. I remembered back to when I was a kid standing in front of the stove watching my Grandma or my Mom drop those balls of dough into the bubbling broth. Just thinking about it made me feel warmer and better inside.
So for supper tonight, it’s chicken and dumplings! Here’s the recipe:

FEATHER DUMPLINGS
1 Cup of cake flour
1 ¼ teaspoons of baking powder
1 teaspoon of salt
6 tablespoons of milk
2 tablespoons of melted fat
14 min

That’s it! I think I will use butter instead of melted fat..that just sounds a little gross! 🙂 And Grandma would leave you sometimes hanging with her recipes. I’m assuming that “14 min” means you boil them in the chicken broth or soup for 14 minutes.

After I’m done making my dumplings, I think I’ll go crawl under one of Grandma’s quilts. That’s another remedy for feeling better. While I’ve been sick and bored, I’ve been going through old pictures. I found one of my sister Angie and the quilt Grandma made for her wedding shower.

angie's quilt

That reminded me of the quilt Grandma made me for mine:

????????????

And that made me call my sister Dea Ann to see if she had a picture of the quilt Grandma made for her. She’s home sick today too. She didn’t have a picture of it handy, but she did say she thought she would go find her quilt and crawl under it 🙂

I’m afraid to call my brother Kevin….just teasing, I know he’s working.

And just for the record my Mom, Barbara Howerton Hall makes delicious noodles too!

One response »

  1. Fun memories. The chicken and dumplins sound yummy and perfect for today!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

